Go Premium
Facebook Twitter Google Plus

Korean BB Cream Review Showdown

June 29, 2014

Comments

Share Post

THE BB CREAM SHOOOOWWWDOOWWNN! I’ve wanted to do this review for soooooooo long! I’m so happy to finally be presenting you with a more complete comparison of BB Creams then in my last much older video. I picked six different BB Creams ranging from cheap to expensive and I pitted them against each other. Also, to make this even better, there’s a Gmarket Promo going on with a whole heap of BB Creams! If you’ve been unsure about spending the money on a BB Cream maybe sale time is your chance to get them.

So to begin with, BB Cream is NOT the same as using foundation, so for those of you ladies/gentleman that don’t enjoy thick makeup up on your face, BB Cream is for you! And yes, lots of Korean dudes use BB Cream as part of their daily routine and I don’t think there is anything wrong with that.

BB Cream actually means Blemish Balm and was originally created by a doctor for people with skin issues including scarring or bad acne. The formula that it is made of is baffling to me because it applies one colour and changes to another in oxygen, it doesn’t clog my pores, it doesn’t feel like I’m wearing makeup, and it still manages to cover up my red face and under eye circles. What is this sorcery!!?? Whatever it’s made of, I use it daily like I would a face cream since all BB Creams come equipped with SPF protection from the sun. It’s very easy to apply and creates a nice no fuss routine at the beginning of the day. Even non-make up wearers could easily use this! Can you apply face cream? Then you can use BB Cream! HUURRAAHH!!!

The only problem with BB Cream is that there is a HUGE variety to choose from. For this test I stuck with popular Korean brand names and yes, Asian BB Cream brands are different than American BB Creams. I actually tested some popular American brands and they felt super thick and gooey. It reminded me of foundation mixed with glue. GROSS. So I’ll be sticking to the original source…KOREAN BB BRANDS! You can buy BB Creams for oily skin, whitening (which means evening out your skin tone, not bleaching your skin), heavy coverage, acne prone skin, waterproof, wrinkles/aging, and I’m sure I’ve missed some. Almost ALL of them come with UV or SPF protection.

For today’s review I picked BB Creams:
-for dry skin
-for light to medium coverage
-in the lightest shade available
-in matte finish (as opposed to dewy/shiny)

The dewy finish is, to me, that sweaty/oily look you sometimes see on Kpop Idols and Korean drama actors/actresses. I personally don’t like it, but Korean people think “dewy” means young and fresh looking. To each their own, right? Also regarding the skin tone, I have light/pink toned skin so not all BB Creams are okay for me. Some of them are on the brownish tanned side and others have a yellow tint to them so I had to avoid brands that were in those shades. Let’s begin!

Etude House BB Cream

Etude House

Get it here!

Price: cheap – mid
Coverage: light
Scent: no
Weight on face: very light
Amount needed for coverage: very little (less than one suggested pump)

I am an Etude House girl, I admit. For those of you that follow me on Instagram you’ll know I post pics of my hauls and sometimes I even do haul videos. I normally use BB Cream from Etude House to begin with but this one was a new type for me. I liked it! It was on the lighter side of coverage and applied really easily. Out of all the brands I tried this one required the least amount of BB Cream to spread onto my whole face. I think this was probably made for normal skin rather than oily/dry because of the way it applied, but it was still good for me since I’m not too dry. This remains in my Top 3 Picks.

Dr Jart BB Cream

Dr Jart

Get it here!

Price: expensive
Coverage: full
Scent: no
Weight on face: medium – heavy
Amount needed for coverage: two squeezes (absorbed quickly)

This was the most expensive brand on the list so I was hesitant to buy it…but I DID IT FOR SCIENCE!!! Thank goodness I like it! I was very happily surprised that this had no scent, was very moisturizing (but not greasy), and had awesome coverage and really made my skin look perfect! Depending on how dry your skin is you might run out of this faster than a cheaper brand that spreads more easily but it really does have awesome coverage. It is in my Top 3 Picks and I would buy it again!

Missha BB Cream

Missha

Get it here!

Price: mid range
Coverage: light – medium
Scent: perfume
Weight on face: light – medium
Amount needed for coverage: brand new bottle and the pump was broken so I can’t tell

I was unhappy from the get-go considering the brand new bottle wouldn’t pump at all. It could be a total fluke but that didn’t impress me. After that I got the amount of BB Cream all wrong and ended up using a cotton pad to scrape the extra stuff off my hands. What I really disliked was the scent since I’m NOT a perfume in my creams kindof girl. The coverage wasn’t great either, it still left me a bit blotchy. This one is a no for me.

Tony Moly BB Cream

Tony Moly

Get it here!

Price: cheap
Coverage: light
Scent: no
Weight on face: light
Amount needed for coverage: one – two squeezes

It was exactly what I expected from the cheapest BB Cream on the list! Very sheer coverage and I had to apply two squeezes to fully apply. I really have nothing else to say since I didn’t dislike it, but I wouldn’t buy it again because I personally need more coverage for my face. If you’re looking for very light and sheer coverage this is for you!

Clio BB Cream

Clio

Get it here!

Price: cheap – mid range
Coverage: medium
Scent: No
Weight on face: light
Amount needed for coverage: one squeeze or less

This one really surprised me! It had a totally unique feeling when it was being applied. It started as a cream but started to turn into almost a powder finish under my fingers. It was very silky. Perhaps that’s the shea butter in it? Whatever it is I was happily surprised considering I had never thought of buying this before. The coverage was nice as well but a bit more tan than my skin. I will buy this again! It’s in my Top 3 Pick.

Skin79 BB Cream

Skin 79

Get it here!

Price: expensive
Coverage: light – medium
Scent: perfume
Weight on face: medium – heavy
Amount needed for coverage: one pump and a half

Nope nope nope. The bottle was nice looking but a hard bottle means you can’t squeeze every last drop out of it. HAHAH! So cheap of me! Also, so much perfume. I guess I can’t really get past that. Also, it had a glossy finish so I really didn’t like anything about it. Considering how expensive it was I expected something better. I’d rather go for Dr.Jart if I’m going to pay for premium Bb Cream.

Altogether, here’s my handy chart, because pictures are pretty!

BB Cream Review Showdown

So that’s it for my BB Cream review. What I’d really like is to hear from you guise is what kindof BB Cream you use. Which ones do you love and which ones do you hate? Be sure to include your skin tone and preferences (example: oily skin, acne prone, etc) so we can share from each other’s experiences! If this was helpful let me know, it took a really long time to film this so if I have to do it again with different BB Creams I’d like to get it right and make it as helpful as possible!

Comments

233

Share Post

Beauty,Open the Happy

HIDE COMMENTS

Korean BB Cream Review Showdown

233 COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

  1. I’m lucky because there is a Korean beauty shop just down the road from me (in Edmonton, Alberta) that carries a wide variety of brands, including most that are mentioned here. Currently I have been using Holika Holika’s Aqua Petit Jelly BB Cream, I picked it up because of all of the rave reviews online, I like it because it evens out my skin tone and covers up my redness and imperfections (I don’t need concealer when I use it), it also has a semi-matte finish so it’s good for when I don’t want to look too glowy and dewy (if you’re in Canada, Holika Holika actually has a Canadian webstore now http://www.holikaholika.ca/products/bb-cream-makeup/aqua-petit-jelly-bb/). I also have Nature Republic’s Photoshot 3D Mouse BB which I like because it has a super light texture, overall I get medium coverage out of it which is what I prefer anyways, I can really build a new diffused look with it and it does have a dewy finish which looks stunning, but it isn’t my day to day BB cream. I keep meaning to pick up the Iope BB Cushion to try next. Also, one of the reasons why I gravitate towards BB Creams is the SPF content, so I am always looking for a higher SPF when I pick mine out.

    2 years ago
  2. I use Dr. Jart! i bought it in the states from sephora before coming to Korea. i have the green bottle though, its supposed to be extra moisturising.
    my favorite ive tried sofar in korea is Too Cool For School’s CC cream. the coverage is amazing, especially for my undereye circles. and its very light like wearing only powder.

    2 years ago
  3. I use Rimmels bb cream, Its the best I’ve managed to find on the high street. http://uk.rimmellondon.com/products/face/bb-cream

    I have a yellowish skin tone so I may have to look into Korean brands more. The lighter Rimmel one actually doesn’t make me look so bad so long as I don’t put too much on.

    2 years ago
  4. I usually use my skinfood aloe very bb cream in the lightest color. I’m actually pretty tan, and I have a weird olive tint to my skin so I was pretty hesitant to try most bb creams, but surprisingly most of the creams I try blend to my skin perfectly, and not a single one (of the 7 i’ve tried) broke me out or looked cakey on my face. The skinfood one is best though, I love the smell, the coverage is perfect for my combination skin and it covers the occasional breakout. When I’m going out though, I use TheFaceShop Magic Cover bb cream, and it is absolutely amazing, light but it gives me a very perfect idol-like coverage.

    Oh yeah, and I agree with Martina that asian bb cream and western bb creams are two different things. Every western bb cream I tried broke me out and creased.

    2 years ago
  5. I use Missha No. 23 Perfect Cover BB cream. I use this one because it’s the only brand that I was able to get someone to help me test it. I don’t want to order BB cream online and discover it’s not my colour.

    The other reason is that Missha’s has one of the highest SPFs on their BB cream. My mom has one she just got from the Face shop and while I like the weight of that one, it has a lower SPF than Missha’s.

    About the push bottle: Yes I have problems pumping Missha BB cream out as well. However, I don’t think it’s because the pump is broken. I’ve found that you have to pump it out a certain way to get it to come out correctly. I’m not sure at what degree of angle, but that’s all I know.

    2 years ago
  6. I tend to use Precious Mineral BB Cream Cotton Fit from Etude, though I’ve also used the Bright fit version. I’ll apply Sweet recipe Baby choux – mint first and – if needed – I’ll use a few dabs of a concealer (Lise Waitier professional corrector )on any bad spots, then I’ll put on the BB cream.

    For a night out I might use Dear Girls- Be Clear Pact from Etude as well, to set and even everything out.

    2 years ago
  7. When I first saw your videos about bb cream I got so excited because I really needed to find a moisturizer with light coverage and SPF. Unfortunately, Korean products are made for Korean skin tone ranges, and seeing that I have dark brown skin mine is far beyond the Normal Korean spectrum. It makes me wonder what darker skinned women who live in Korea ( like Michelle Lee or Tasha) use. Or maybe heir skin is just light enough to pass after the product oxidizes. So instead I use the Maybelline Dream Fresh Bb cream in the darkest shade. It is actually one of the few American bb’s that comes in a dark brown tone so I did not have many options. It works ok, but since I have really oily skin and live in the tropics, makeup hardly ever stays on my face and I have to keep reapplying. I actually remember before bb creams started being produced in the West, that dark skinned women had put tutorials on youtube, mixing their foundation with bb creams.

    I have used The Face shops’s Oil-Free BB with chamomile and it was nice but it still left a slight white cast on my face after oxidation. It was quite hilarious when I went to buy it from the store in NY. The Korean salesperson obviously wanted to tell me I was too dark and it probably would not work for me, but didn’t know how to do so without coming off racist. I bought it anyway because I just wanted to try to see if it would work.

    Alas, this review would not help me find a bb cream but it was entertaining non-the less.

    2 years ago
    • Have you read The Wanderlust Project (http://thewanderlustproject.com/)? It’s a travel blog, but she reviews a lot of Korean skincare and beauty products and she has very dark skin. I find her blog super useful when I am researching products or discovering new ones.

      2 years ago
      • Hahaha! I have been perusing her blog and it is really nice, thank you but just need to clarify that she does -not- have ‘very dark skin’. Actually on the black shade scale she would be considered caramel toned. I am much darker ( more like chocolate) and sadly, my skin tone is not even that dark in the scheme of skin tones. She also seems to not use BB creams at all. Just a moisturizer with SPF. Ah well, she does have some great recommendations though which I would love to try. Thanks for telling me about her blog.

        2 years ago
        • Sorry! We’re a pretty pale lot in Western Canada (as it is winter for 8 months) so I am probably not the best judge of range.

          2 years ago
      • No I have not. Thanks for the recommendation. I will look her up.

        2 years ago
    • I’m pretty dark too, way tanner than Tasha or Megan. I was also pretty hesitant about using an Asian bb creams, but some brands do sell darker color. Missha’s perfect cover bb cream comes in the darkest color I’ve seen for an asian bb cream, and it’s a good bb cream. I actually use the lighter colors and they blend with my skin color perfectly. Or maybe you could mix a darker foundation with bb cream.

      2 years ago
      • The mixing with foundation is usually what most darker skinned women do, but I have very sensitive skin and hardly ever use foundation because it clogs my pores so I haven’t tried that.

        I think also it has to do with undertones, whether you have warm or cool. Sometimes the bb creams have a cool base make my skin a little blue/greenish and I maybe need a warmer toned one.

        2 years ago
  8. So I’ve been studying abroad for 4 years now, and one of the biggest things I miss about Korea is the abundance of affordable make up brands strewn EVERYWHERE in Seoul! I long for the freebies they hand you just for looking around and all the pretty packaging and cheesy Engrish (this will give me the Aura of a Luminous Goddess? SOLD) and hrrrnnnggghKOREAAA-! Anyway, my favorite brand at the moment is Innisfree (mostly for skin care products rather than make up), but because my first ever BB cream was from Etude House I’ve been getting my BB creams from there ever since (and not just because they shout “Welcome, princess!” when you walk into the store). I am currently using the Precious Mineral one in your review. I have oily, slightly acne prone pale skin, but I’ve never had any problems with Etude House’s BB creams even if they’re not specifically for oily skin- I like that they don’t feel heavy or cakey and don’t make me look overly made-up. Since the Etude House BB creams last FOREVER, I won’t need to buy one anytime soon, but after watching your review I really want to try the BB cream from Clio! Thanks for sacrificing (?) your skin for us, Martina! :D I vote for more Korean make up related videos!

    2 years ago
  9. I use Nature Republic. They have a quite a big range and seem to suit my skin problems best (oily skin, problem skin, redness). They also have BB Creams specifically for redness that contain bee venom- which I guess helps somehow? I’ve found that type to be really good for summer as well because it stays put even when super sweaty, it’s almost like it’s a waxier substance. I also use their powders to set it. Nature Republic is cheap so that factors in for me, I’d like to try out some higher end ones though.

    I have tried Missha before and it was terrible! I’ve heard from Korean people that Missha was a cheaper company but then decided to charge higher prices without making the quality any better. I’ve also had that same trouble trying to get it out of the bottle. The price is really too much for such a crappy product.

    2 years ago
  10. I use Smash Box BB cream. It makes you think it’s going to be heavy when you put it on, since it’s kind of thick, but it actually feels really light weight once it sets. It covers nicely too, unless i’m having a random heavy break out… it doesn’t cover that 100%. It’s definitely made for those who just need to balance their skin tone. It’s better than the cover girl, maybaline, and one other cheaper brand I bought though. There aren’t many brands that make super white make up for albinos like me, but Smash Box’s “fair” is actually boarder line too light for me, which is a first. The price isn’t pretty, and the bottle is kinda small, but it lasts me a while since you don’t need much. I believe it is $35, but that is with Military discount. I have no idea now much it is in the states. I have sensitive and kinda of oily skin, so if anyone has a better(and cheaper :P) suggestion -even a Japanese brand since I’m currently stationed in the Main Land- that would be awesome. : )

    2 years ago
  11. Hahah! I love that you even showed us how much is it per gram. XD I personally don’t use make up. It’s too hot in Malaysia to do so and make up is not really a norm unless it’s for a special event.

    2 years ago
  12. MISS CLEO! I DON’T THINK YOU REALLY KNOW! MISS CLEO! MISS CLEO MISS MISS MISS CLEO! : D

    2 years ago
  13. YES! I am super pale and BB cream obsessed! (I have so many. SO MANY.) I have been waiting for this, and please do more of these kinds of posts! I would also love to see swatches if you are willing?

    Martina, if you like Etude House but don’t like the dewy finish, try their Cotton Fit (you have the Blooming Fit) as it’s supposed to be more matte/for oily skin.

    My favourite BB cream (for pale skin) is the Mizon Snail Repair BB cream. (I reviewed it here: http://snowwhiteandthepear.blogspot.com/2013/01/weekly-review-mizon-snail-repair.html) It’s more hydrating and gentle on skin than oil-control, but it’s not heavy or greasy at all, and reduces blemishes. It outperformed my friend’s foundation in the tropical heat of Florida in late June. :)

    2 years ago
    • Snail repair eh? Wut…wut is it made from…

      2 years ago
      • It’s made from the … um, brace yourself. You know how snails are always travelling over stuff with their tender wee squishy bodies? Over sharb/abrasive/nasty things on the ground? Well, they secrete goo that causes their bodies to heal uber quickly and stop any infections dead in their tracks. Super quick healing and infection stopping = pimples begone!

        Snail filtrate is a super buzzy thing in Korean beauty products (I am sure you’ve seen it all over) and it’s the *filtered* snail goo from a specific kind of snails raised for this purpose. It’s not like … picking up your garden variety snail after a rain. D: Anyway, it turns out the skin regeneration properties of these snails carry over to human skin.

        It’s seriously amazing, I can’t live without Mizon’s Snail Recovery Gel, which is a. super cheap and b. has worked MIRACLES for my skin. Seriously. I have empty tubes of it in every corner of my bathroom. http://snowwhiteandthepear.blogspot.com/2013/03/weekly-review-mizon-multi-function.html

        2 years ago
  14. I use the Tony Moly BB Cream and I found it did the opposite when I got it… it came out of the bottle TOO easily and wouldn’t stop coming out at first. And the coverage for me was really thick and darker than my skin (because I’m ridiculously pale) and covered everything really well. It might seem odd because I don’t know if you should actually do this but I mix it with a bit of my Tony Moly CC cream and it not only makes it the perfect shade for me but it makes my face look flawless! I do find it needs a tiny bit of powder just to keep it settled for the day but otherwise it works really well for me.

    2 years ago
    • That’s what I find so interesting about makeup. I’ll buy something that works terribly on me and I’ll give it to a friend who loves it! All our skins react differently right? That’s why I want everyone to spread the word about their personal experiences! :D

      2 years ago
  15. I’ve used The Face Shop Oil Free BB Cream. It said it treats oily or problem skin and has Chamomile Extract. It was light coverage. Perfect for those with nice skin and not needing to cover much. I also used Blemish Recover Balm it was kind of thick and covers well. The color is a bit light. From the same brand I also used the Gold Caviar cream. This is the one I’m currently using. It seems a bit darker than the other one, it has decent coverage and it’s not too thick.

    I don’t think I’ve found the perfect one for me yet. I might have to keep looking and there’s just so many!

    2 years ago
  16. I’m an Etudehouse girl too! I’ve been using their Precious Mineral Bright Fit BB cream since 2012 and I love the light to medium coverage that it gives me. I have combination skin and it’s hot all year round in Singapore so I hardly ever wear foundation unless it’s a special occasion. Gonna give the Clio one a try though, I’m really curious about the texture of that one. Thanks for the review Martina! \o/

    2 years ago
  17. I use different silly American ones >.< I haven't found one I love. I just bought one from Maybelline that is called the Dream BB Cream and it has salicylic acid to work on acne while covering. Hoping it's better, it does seem like something needing to be set with powder.
    Thanks for the review cause I was looking into buying an asian bb cream in the near future!

    ^_^

    2 years ago
    • I also use the silly American ones but it is mostly because Asian ones do not work on people with dark skin. I used the Face shop one for oily skin and when it oxidized it left a white cast on my skin making my skin look odd. So, nope.

      So sadly Martina, this review was of no help to people who don’t have fair to medium skin tones.

      2 years ago
      • You’re right, Asian BB creams are designed for their skin tones, so it means there are not a lot of options. Luckily, there are more and more BB creams for deeper skin tones coming out, because people have realized that BB creams are an international craze and there is a huge global market. I agree the American ones are terrible, but I have heard some of the newer ones by higher end brands are decent.

        Another thing you can do is to take a foundation a few shades darker than your skin, and mix it with the BB cream if you want to enjoy the skin benefits of a BB cream but want to adjust the colour. I actually do this with BB creams that are too dark – I mix them with Mac Face and Body White until the shade is light enough.

        I know it’s not a great option, but it’s something to try if you have BBs sitting unused because they’re the wrong shade.

        2 years ago
        • Problem is that American Makeup Marketers know that people will pay out of their ass to get better BB Cream. I REALLY like Tart since it is vegan. It goes on really powdery and goes a long way. I feel like it covers a lot without looking like I painted my face. It is pretty expensive but I use so little that it lasts a long time. They go only to a tan with them.

          I also see that Dr. Jart is selling at Sephora. Hmm… I might pick that up, maybe the formula is the same as the one Martina tried. But it is more expensive than Tart, and is probably tested on animals, so I might skip trying it out.

          I also like DeVita, which I got since it was another vegan brand that is paraben free. I like them, and I never noticed it on my face. It doesn’t has much of an even color as Tart. But if I feel like my face is a little dry I pick DeVita since it seems to moisturize more.

          Overall I feel like BB Cream is a buzz word in the states. It does suck that nothing goes past a “tan” color.

          Links:
          Tart: http://www.sephora.com/bb-tinted-treatment-12-hour-primer-broad-spectrum-spf-30-sunscreen-P377542?skuId=1486752
          Dr Jart’s Full Line: http://www.sephora.com/dr-jart
          DeVita: http://www.devitaskincare.com/store/absdotsosdotlute-minerals8482-moisture-tints-c-260_266.html

          2 years ago
        • Yes, it is sort of limited sadly but I try to make do. I do know about the foundation tinting trick. When I first learned about bb creams and searched for them on youtube, a some of the black makeup gurus were talking about using foundation to tint. Unfortunately I have really sensitive skin and really don’t use foundation. That’s actually the reason I was so excited about bb creams because I saw me as an alternative to having to wear foundation. Just bb cream, a bit of loose powder and I could have a made up look for an event like a dinner or Graduation ceremony. Especially living in the tropics, wearing foundation is like murder to your skin.

          For now I just have to make do with the inferior American ones since they cater to a wider shade range.

          2 years ago
  18. I bought the Etude House Precious Mineral BB Cream in Cotton fit last week and I really fell in love with that one! I have really pale skin and never found a fitting one in Germany (and they also have that glueish consistency here)but this one really does the job! It also feels light but it covers all my pimples pretty well :)Also I can wear it the whole day without turning caky althogh I have oily skin!

    2 years ago
  19. I’m at that awkward age where I need to cover breakouts and my first wrinkles, so I look for BBs that are anti-aging and non-oily. I prefer thinner consistency and medium coverage. Favorite right now is The Face Shop Recovery BB Cream, lightweight, medium coverage, herbal scent at first but that goes away. Seems to improve my skin. For hot humid weather, Holika Holika Luminous Silk keeps down oiliness. Smells baby powdery which I don’t like but again, that goes away. For bad skin days Missha Cho Bo Yang has heavier coverage, doesn’t feel too makeup-y. It’s expensive but the Missha US site has big sales periodically. The Face Shop Power Perfection is also a pretty good everyday BB, thin consistency and light to medium coverage.

    2 years ago
  20. My favourite BB creams are Missha’s M Perfect Cover in #13 (Light Beige) and BRTC Jasmine Water! They’re amongst the palest ones I’ve found, the others were from Skinfood (Aloe, and Gingko I think?) but I prefer the consistency of the former ones :) I’ve tried various others, and I’d like to try more brands and also CC creams but it’s difficult to tell if they’d suit my skin tone. I recently bought an Innisfree one and unfortunately it’s a little too dark/orangey, but I love Innisfree’s packaging.
    Most of all I love Korean hydrating skincare, so good for dry skin~

    2 years ago
    • Yes! A fellow pale person! I’ve tried the Missha M Perfect Cover in no. 13 and I really liked it, and it matched my skin tone! I think it’s one of the lightest BB creams around (I’m like a NC/NW 10). I’m always scared to buy without swatting because it’s so hard to tell what they will look like on my skin.
      I just bought a Mizon BB cream, it’s supposed to be a nice light color. I tried a Dr.G BB cream and it improved my skin in less than a week of using it, but unfortunately it was a little too dark for me.

      2 years ago
  21. i know these are mostly for dry skin but i was wondering Martina if you found some for oily skin since my face tends to be more oliy

    2 years ago
  22. some of them sound great but as long as the shipping is more expensive than the product I can’t really afford them :(

    2 years ago
    • Did you try Amazon? I’ve found some of the same products that will ship free with Prime, or you can buy from sellers that charge around 9 bucks for the cream and 5 bucks shipping so that the total price is slightly less than the Prime price with the free shipping. They definitely have Etude House.

      2 years ago
  23. i know these are mostly for dry skin but i was wondering Martina if you found some for oily skin since my face tends to be more oliy

    2 years ago
  24. I normally use the exact one you reviewed from Etude House. But since it’s summer it’s hard to find anything that matches my skin tone. :\

    2 years ago
  25. Which ones would you recommend for sensitive combination skin? (Oily t-zone & dryish cheeks & eyebrows lol) Non scented plz n thank you~!

    2 years ago
  26. i know these are mostly for dry skin but i was wondering Martina if you found some for oily skin since my face tends to be more oliy

    2 years ago
    • I think there are a lot of great comments suggesting oily skin BB creams all around you! It seems the skin79 one might be better if I had oily skin!

      2 years ago
  27. “if you want your face to smell like you walked though a department store and got attacked by a bunch of women sampling perfume…” ahahaha that reminds me of that scene in Spongebob when he and Patrick got stuck in the Flying Dutchmans ship!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8R2dWR2f4yc

    2 years ago
  28. I don’t use BB cream- my mum buys it but I find it’s too dark for my skin, regardless of brand or if it’s supposed to be for ‘ivory’ skin. I guess in England looking pale isn’t really in. I like really thick foundation because my skin is so blotchy but the thick BB cream just makes me look like an oompa-loompa and those moisturising versions barely do anything and I don’t like looking shiny.

    2 years ago
  29. I like the pink skin79, it was actually awesome. I got a mixed skin so it balanced the oilyness and i didnt sense the perfume as much. Now i got the orange one http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-DOih9tGUoMo/T_BSlAfzjwI/AAAAAAAAFYg/nHHcDc97Q8w/s640/skin79_super_plus_orange_bb_cream__12381_zoom.jpg which is ok, i think. The scent is weaker but i think its kinda oilier (the cream itself). The coverage is good too. I also have one from tsowoong http://thumbs2.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/mvAYnY4JHKTKr3LvT-7urFw.jpg , the coverage is great but the smell is… i cant quite point out. like carrots mixed with seaweed and sadness. i want to try the skin79 from the new series. they have a new gell green bb but its too expensive at the moment.

    2 years ago
  30. I’ve been using the Skin79 for a long time and love it. I didn’t even know it had a perfumey scent as it didn’t really smell to me. Also I believe the pink one is for oily skin and the gold is for dry skin. The dewy finish also doesn’t bother me and I like that fresh look. Didn’t make me look oily, just dewy. To each their own though.

    I have tried a missha bb cream before because I heard a lot of great things about it, but it didn’t really impress me. Would like to try some etude house bb cream though, maybe now is the time?

    2 years ago
  31. If you go on the link for the BB cream sales, you’ll see a bunch of kpop idols modelling separate brands. :P
    I see Sulli, Yoona, Jessica, Suzy, Victoria, and someone I think is Dara?

    2 years ago
  32. Thanks for the review! I never know which is good. I chose based on samples I got from a friend, but I haven’t tried most of these brands.

    I use Skin79 in the gold bottle (I think it’s targeted to fixing wrinkles, but whatever!), and I love the perfume (personal preference). I use one pump most days. It’s rather dewy, but I usually add a sheer powder on top anyway so that’s not a problem. I definitely didn’t pay that much for it though! It worked out to about $15; bought on Japan’s Rakuten.

    2 years ago
  33. I must say, looking at how much bb you use Martina… you’re putting too much at once! It’s better to put much less twice, then the color is much better and well its better to pat the face lightly than rubbing, then you get a fresher look. I used the pink one from skin79 but it’s made for pink undertone skin and it;s too dark. I’m really pale so I have my favourites and these are: Skin79 Green(it’s really light and almost white and it doesn’t cover much but that’s good for me), Etude House Precious Mineral Bright Fit(It’s almost perfect and not so expensive. I use that the most because it feels like my skin is in perfect condition and smells so goooooood~)But I must say that I fell in love with cushions! I have one from Etude and its really great! You don’t need much product and skin looks fantastic. All day long it looks perfect… I tried many bb creams and well as for you Martina I must say that maybe skin79 Gold would be good for you but You must remember that any bb from skin79 needs to be put more than once a day
    because it don’t last too well in comparison with other bb’s. As for me Etude is my number one^^

    2 years ago
  34. The exact same thing happened to me with my Missha BB cream! Because I got it from Amazon vs. a Korean seller on Ebay, I seriously thought they had sent me a damaged or an old product! Good to know I was not the only one! :(
    I do like it, but now seeing your review I am thinking of trying The Etude House one.

    2 years ago
  35. Great review! Good to know expensive doesn’t always mean better. Eww I hate super smelly skin products too – I have perfume for that! My favourite is Clio VF21 water balm (very similar to the one you posted, but a little different). I’ve been wanting to try the Etude House for ages because I’ve heard great things.

    I review Korean cosmetics on my new blog: http://www.ambereyesblog.com

    2 years ago
    • PS. I have dry skin so the Clio water balm formula is great – nice and moisturising :)

      2 years ago
  36. I was using BRTC Gold Caviar before. It worked pretty well, mostly I wanted hydration and evening out my skin tone. :)

    2 years ago
  37. I use Skin79, but I use the Orange bottle. I like the coverage and I have oily/combination skin and it seems to work well. I pay no where near that much for it, less than $20 on Amazon last time I did. I use less than a pump and, yes, it is glossy, but I also use a rice powder to set everything so that fixes it. There is a smell, but it goes away before I even get out the door.

    2 years ago
  38. I use the skin79. I too find it to be very dewy/shiny. More so than I like. I might try the Dr. Jart next. I have very oily skin and am rather dark. So the Clio may work for me as well. I prefer Korean BB creams as well.

    The only problem is I’m in the US so it’s hard to get access to some of the BB creams There’s no Etude house near to us and I want to test the BB cream on my skin before I purchase.

    Thanks for the review. I’ll keep an eye out for these BB creams.

    2 years ago
  39. You needed one and a half pumps of the skin79!? My face is worse then yours and I only use half a pump and get perfect coverage on my face + neck. Also, the pump is a vacuum one with a bottom that comes up when you pump, so there’s actually no waisting whatsoever! :)

    2 years ago
  40. I use Missha 13 because I have a very pale complexion. I really love how light this color is and how well it matches my undertones. I’ve had make up artists use my Missha BB cream for shows and they always make a face at the grey color as they put it on but then perk up when it oxidizes and matches my skin tone pretty perfectly.

    2 years ago