Go Premium
Facebook Twitter Google Plus

Korean BB Cream Review Showdown

June 29, 2014

Comments

Share Post

THE BB CREAM SHOOOOWWWDOOWWNN! I’ve wanted to do this review for soooooooo long! I’m so happy to finally be presenting you with a more complete comparison of BB Creams then in my last much older video. I picked six different BB Creams ranging from cheap to expensive and I pitted them against each other. Also, to make this even better, there’s a Gmarket Promo going on with a whole heap of BB Creams! If you’ve been unsure about spending the money on a BB Cream maybe sale time is your chance to get them.

So to begin with, BB Cream is NOT the same as using foundation, so for those of you ladies/gentleman that don’t enjoy thick makeup up on your face, BB Cream is for you! And yes, lots of Korean dudes use BB Cream as part of their daily routine and I don’t think there is anything wrong with that.

BB Cream actually means Blemish Balm and was originally created by a doctor for people with skin issues including scarring or bad acne. The formula that it is made of is baffling to me because it applies one colour and changes to another in oxygen, it doesn’t clog my pores, it doesn’t feel like I’m wearing makeup, and it still manages to cover up my red face and under eye circles. What is this sorcery!!?? Whatever it’s made of, I use it daily like I would a face cream since all BB Creams come equipped with SPF protection from the sun. It’s very easy to apply and creates a nice no fuss routine at the beginning of the day. Even non-make up wearers could easily use this! Can you apply face cream? Then you can use BB Cream! HUURRAAHH!!!

The only problem with BB Cream is that there is a HUGE variety to choose from. For this test I stuck with popular Korean brand names and yes, Asian BB Cream brands are different than American BB Creams. I actually tested some popular American brands and they felt super thick and gooey. It reminded me of foundation mixed with glue. GROSS. So I’ll be sticking to the original source…KOREAN BB BRANDS! You can buy BB Creams for oily skin, whitening (which means evening out your skin tone, not bleaching your skin), heavy coverage, acne prone skin, waterproof, wrinkles/aging, and I’m sure I’ve missed some. Almost ALL of them come with UV or SPF protection.

For today’s review I picked BB Creams:
-for dry skin
-for light to medium coverage
-in the lightest shade available
-in matte finish (as opposed to dewy/shiny)

The dewy finish is, to me, that sweaty/oily look you sometimes see on Kpop Idols and Korean drama actors/actresses. I personally don’t like it, but Korean people think “dewy” means young and fresh looking. To each their own, right? Also regarding the skin tone, I have light/pink toned skin so not all BB Creams are okay for me. Some of them are on the brownish tanned side and others have a yellow tint to them so I had to avoid brands that were in those shades. Let’s begin!

Etude House BB Cream

Etude House

Get it here!

Price: cheap – mid
Coverage: light
Scent: no
Weight on face: very light
Amount needed for coverage: very little (less than one suggested pump)

I am an Etude House girl, I admit. For those of you that follow me on Instagram you’ll know I post pics of my hauls and sometimes I even do haul videos. I normally use BB Cream from Etude House to begin with but this one was a new type for me. I liked it! It was on the lighter side of coverage and applied really easily. Out of all the brands I tried this one required the least amount of BB Cream to spread onto my whole face. I think this was probably made for normal skin rather than oily/dry because of the way it applied, but it was still good for me since I’m not too dry. This remains in my Top 3 Picks.

Dr Jart BB Cream

Dr Jart

Get it here!

Price: expensive
Coverage: full
Scent: no
Weight on face: medium – heavy
Amount needed for coverage: two squeezes (absorbed quickly)

This was the most expensive brand on the list so I was hesitant to buy it…but I DID IT FOR SCIENCE!!! Thank goodness I like it! I was very happily surprised that this had no scent, was very moisturizing (but not greasy), and had awesome coverage and really made my skin look perfect! Depending on how dry your skin is you might run out of this faster than a cheaper brand that spreads more easily but it really does have awesome coverage. It is in my Top 3 Picks and I would buy it again!

Missha BB Cream

Missha

Get it here!

Price: mid range
Coverage: light – medium
Scent: perfume
Weight on face: light – medium
Amount needed for coverage: brand new bottle and the pump was broken so I can’t tell

I was unhappy from the get-go considering the brand new bottle wouldn’t pump at all. It could be a total fluke but that didn’t impress me. After that I got the amount of BB Cream all wrong and ended up using a cotton pad to scrape the extra stuff off my hands. What I really disliked was the scent since I’m NOT a perfume in my creams kindof girl. The coverage wasn’t great either, it still left me a bit blotchy. This one is a no for me.

Tony Moly BB Cream

Tony Moly

Get it here!

Price: cheap
Coverage: light
Scent: no
Weight on face: light
Amount needed for coverage: one – two squeezes

It was exactly what I expected from the cheapest BB Cream on the list! Very sheer coverage and I had to apply two squeezes to fully apply. I really have nothing else to say since I didn’t dislike it, but I wouldn’t buy it again because I personally need more coverage for my face. If you’re looking for very light and sheer coverage this is for you!

Clio BB Cream

Clio

Get it here!

Price: cheap – mid range
Coverage: medium
Scent: No
Weight on face: light
Amount needed for coverage: one squeeze or less

This one really surprised me! It had a totally unique feeling when it was being applied. It started as a cream but started to turn into almost a powder finish under my fingers. It was very silky. Perhaps that’s the shea butter in it? Whatever it is I was happily surprised considering I had never thought of buying this before. The coverage was nice as well but a bit more tan than my skin. I will buy this again! It’s in my Top 3 Pick.

Skin79 BB Cream

Skin 79

Get it here!

Price: expensive
Coverage: light – medium
Scent: perfume
Weight on face: medium – heavy
Amount needed for coverage: one pump and a half

Nope nope nope. The bottle was nice looking but a hard bottle means you can’t squeeze every last drop out of it. HAHAH! So cheap of me! Also, so much perfume. I guess I can’t really get past that. Also, it had a glossy finish so I really didn’t like anything about it. Considering how expensive it was I expected something better. I’d rather go for Dr.Jart if I’m going to pay for premium Bb Cream.

Altogether, here’s my handy chart, because pictures are pretty!

BB Cream Review Showdown

So that’s it for my BB Cream review. What I’d really like is to hear from you guise is what kindof BB Cream you use. Which ones do you love and which ones do you hate? Be sure to include your skin tone and preferences (example: oily skin, acne prone, etc) so we can share from each other’s experiences! If this was helpful let me know, it took a really long time to film this so if I have to do it again with different BB Creams I’d like to get it right and make it as helpful as possible!

Comments

234

Share Post

Beauty,Open the Happy

HIDE COMMENTS

Korean BB Cream Review Showdown

234 COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. Hi Everyone,
    WARNING SUPER LONG COMMENT I’M SO SORRY.

    I’ve tested only a few brands but I like Dr. Jart (Black Label Detox, Water Fuse, and Premium) and Lioele’s Dollish for Korean Brands
    I have an olive skin tone (I’m half Brazilian), it’s a bit light/medium during fall and winter and then I’m more medium olive skin toned during summer due to doing yard work and being in the sun.

    I have oily skin and these brands don’t irritate my skin or cause additional acne.
    It also works well during winter when I get dry skin around my mouth.

    Lioele’s Dollish is a thin coverage and comes in green or purple, the green is for me at least more matte and covers up the redness really well (green neutralizes red) and the purple is more of a shiny “glossy” look.
    Both depending on the time of year work really well with my skin, oxidizes nicely, if I get too tan in the summer it doesn’t look right (curse that lawn mowing).

    Dr. Jart I’ve recently tried, as Sephora has it in stock and for Christmas they had a kit where you got 3 bb creams, 1 normal sized tube (40 ml) and 2 small (15ml) and it came with a face mask. I’ve tried all of these and they work really well with my skin, they do though need to be blended in really well as a little bit goes a looong way, my fingers don’t do a good enough job so I rely on a makeup sponge, if i use my fingers I have to work at it since it just pushes the product around and doesn’t absorb quickly enough, note you can always blend the excess into your neck to make sure you don’t get the dreaded shade difference between your face and your neck.

    It takes a bit to oxidize so I wouldn’t put it on and just go outside, I’d wait about 5 minutes to make sure then continue with your makeup routine. Great coverage and totally worth the money I’d say, hides my large pores which makes me love it even more.

    I usually put loose translucent powder over my bb cream and finish with some blush.
    I also use a setting spray at the end, lets it last all day without having to reapply.
    Which is fantastic since I work with taxes and from January to March I normally do a minimum of 10 hour work days and have no desire to reapply anything! I’m just that kind of lazy bum.

    I’ve also tried the Japanese brand Shiseido’s BB cream. They come in different shades here in the US and are tinted. They do oxidize a bit though so it helps. I got this one in medium and I would say I liked it. It’s not as good as lets say Dr. Jart but it does the job and if I had to repurchase it I definitely would.

    I’ve also tested American BB Creams, I’ve only found ONE that I think is ok, it’s defintiely NOT like the Korean Brands but if you can’t go purchasing stuff online it works. It’s Urban Decays Naked Skin and it’s labled as a Beauty Balm. When I tried it it blended well and mostly it hid your pores it did not do major coverage for pimples etc. But if you’re just looking for something that will cover minor issues I think it’s ok. If this was the only item I could get close to a BB cream I would get it. This would be good for teens who have parents that will refuse to buy them BB cream from the internet, if this is the case, teens in the USA you can find this at ULTA or SEPHORA and it’s approximately $25-$30ish for a tube (35ml).

    I’ve tried other American BB Creams (example: Garnier) and they are NOT worth it, it’s basically the US Companies trying to get in on the BB Cream action and just slapping on the name of BB Cream onto a tube of tinted cream.

    For those wanting to try out BB creams, it took me a good 2 years to muster the courage to go and start buying tubes. I realized that they sometimes have little kits where there’s enough for about 2 to 3 applications per tube and you can test them out.

    When I tried Dollish from Lioele I was able to get a mini 4 pack of their other BB creams to test.
    Sadly those made me look orange but I was glad I didn’t splurge on entire bottles, I think when I got the kit it was $15, this did not include shipping.

    Try looking for these kits at the brands websites or maybe try Amazon.com sometimes you can get lucky and find them there.

    Hope this helps.
    And sorry for the long post just thought it’d help to get my full opinion on the bb creams I have tried.

    Good Luck to you all at finding your perfect BB Cream :)

    4 years ago
  2. First of all, thanks Martina for filming this video! :D I thoroughly enjoyed it and I appreciate your opinions on these BB creams very much– they’re very helpful! <3

    So now I thought to share my thoughts here as well, since I use BB cream too and have tried a few myself ^^ I'm still on the hunt for the perfect BB cream for me, as my skin is rather tricky to work with (sensitive, combination/dry, NC25-ish shade with very yellow undertones that is hard to match…) I actually use the same Missha BB cream that Martina didn't like in the video, I've had no problems with mine and I think it's very good for my skin. When I first started using it, it seemed to even help clear some blemishes I had :) I've also used Skinfood's Red Bean BB (it was okay), Etude House's Precious Mineral BB (the original one that Martina used in one of her first makeup vids, it was good but not quite a match for me). I've also tried BRTC's Gold Caviar BB (really liked this one), The Face Shop's Lovely Me:ex BB (actually really good, despite being inexpensive), and one from a Korean brand called Sheer Skin (Perfect Natural BB cream– a good one, but WAY too perfumey for me D:). I've also used CC creams, like Too Cool for School's Dinoplatz CC cream (it's okay.. not anything special, and it irritates my skin a tiny bit T__T) and Tony Moly's Luminous Live Aura CC cream (which I LOVE). There are a vast number of BB and CC creams out there, and it's difficult to know what will work for your skin, but try to research as much as possible about a certain BB or CC you're interested in before buying it– that's what I do! Read the many reviews online about them that beauty bloggers post. I'm reaaallly grateful to all those awesome beauty bloggers out there who write them! :)

    And I read that many of you out there don't know where to buy BB cream from… I live in Canada so I don't have any Korean cosmetics shops around (sad life..) so I do buy them online. I order from two websites, both of which have good prices, excellent customer service, and free shipping :) and NO, I'm not affiliated with them in any way, I'm just spreading the K-cosmetics love, haha. The websites are cosmetic-love.com and w2beauty.com, if any of you are interested :) Hope this helps! <3

    4 years ago
  3. Hi guys, I need some help here. :)

    I never wear make-up. However, ever since I’m a kid I have a tendency to blush for no reason (my blood circulation isn’t so good, nothing problematic except the fact that my body temperature varies greatly from one place to another). My cheeks are basically 95% of the red, and I thought that BB creams could really help me with that.

    Since I live in Canada, I only tried Marcelle’s BB cream. I’ve bought it like 3 years ago because I had an interview for a huge company that I truly wanted to work in. As I said, I blush for almost no reason and stress makes me blush. I really did NOT want that to happen (I got the job by the way :P).

    I’ve used it like 10 times max in 3 years. But it feels so heavy. I’m reallyyyy not into make-up but now that I’ve seen your video, I’m interested in buying something that might be better for my skin.

    Any recommendation for someone who never wears make-up, blushes often and have a reaaaally pale skin? Something that feels light and that last for a long time would be nice (is there an expiration date on make-up? Honestly I know nothing about it and I’m just lost in the sea of products).

    I’m willing to buy a Korean BB cream but as I said, I barely use it, so if I order one, I would really like something that would help my situation.

    Thanks everyone ! :)

    4 years ago
    • Hi fellow Canadian Nasty! :D

      I’ve tried the CC cream from Marcelle before. So not good ^^; but yeah, there are a bunch of Korean BB creams out there that would suit your needs!
      It’s difficult to recommend a particular BB cream to you right now, first we need to know a few things– like is your skin dry or oily? Also, what is your preferred finish (matte face, or a dewy look)? Also, is your skin sensitive? Sorry for all the questions, but every BB cream has these different things to take into account ^^;
      Right now I think I’d recommend a BB cushion to you..it’s super lightweight and feels like next to nothing on your skin (the ones I’ve tried at least). It’s basically like BB cream or foundation soaked into a sponge housed in a compact, and you use a puff to gather it from the cushion and apply it on your face. It’s pretty foolproof and very easy to use, so it would be good for you who doesn’t wear much makeup ^^
      Apparently Laneige’s BB cushion is now sold at Target here in Canada, but I bought mine from a Korean shop. But if you want to try it, I suggest you buy the shade no.13 from Korea, it’s their lightest shade ^^ (I don’t think they have that shade here). another option that is less expensive is Etude House’s Precious Mineral Any Cushion. It’s very very popular.. Their lightest shade is shade NO2, which might suit your skin ^^

      Oookayy sorry for this huge reply XD but I hope it’ll help you somewhat! Please don’t hesitate to ask if you have any more questions~ ^^

      (P.S.– many BB creams expire within 12-18 months, I think, so you’ll have a good year of usage from it ^^)

      4 years ago
  4. oh and you can also buy sample sizes from ebay…

    4 years ago
  5. I like the pink skin79, it was actually awesome. I got a mixed skin so it balanced the oilyness and i didnt sense the perfume as much. Now i got the orange one http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-DOih9tGUoMo/T_BSlAfzjwI/AAAAAAAAFYg/nHHcDc97Q8w/s640/skin79_super_plus_orange_bb_cream__12381_zoom.jpg which is ok, i think. The scent is weaker but i think its kinda oilier (the cream itself). The coverage is good too. I also have one from tsowoong http://thumbs2.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/m/mvAYnY4JHKTKr3LvT-7urFw.jpg , the coverage is great but the smell is… i cant quite point out. like carrots mixed with seaweed and sadness. i want to try the skin79 from the new series. they have a new gell green bb but its too expensive at the moment.

    4 years ago
  6. My favourite BB creams are Missha’s M Perfect Cover in #13 (Light Beige) and BRTC Jasmine Water! They’re amongst the palest ones I’ve found, the others were from Skinfood (Aloe, and Gingko I think?) but I prefer the consistency of the former ones :) I’ve tried various others, and I’d like to try more brands and also CC creams but it’s difficult to tell if they’d suit my skin tone. I recently bought an Innisfree one and unfortunately it’s a little too dark/orangey, but I love Innisfree’s packaging.
    Most of all I love Korean hydrating skincare, so good for dry skin~

    4 years ago
    • Yes! A fellow pale person! I’ve tried the Missha M Perfect Cover in no. 13 and I really liked it, and it matched my skin tone! I think it’s one of the lightest BB creams around (I’m like a NC/NW 10). I’m always scared to buy without swatting because it’s so hard to tell what they will look like on my skin.
      I just bought a Mizon BB cream, it’s supposed to be a nice light color. I tried a Dr.G BB cream and it improved my skin in less than a week of using it, but unfortunately it was a little too dark for me.

      4 years ago
  7. I actually use TheFaceShop’s HD-Perfect BB Cream. I love it! It does has a scent but I find it refreshing and light, rather than over bearing and cloying. The coverage is great too, I am with Martina that I find the magic of BB creams ability to change colors in oxygen astounding! :) It is a bit of a pain to get, there is only one FaceShop store in Chicago, but I feel it is worth it.

    I agree 100% that the American versions are vastly lacking and hugely inferior to the FaceShop stuff I use…The down side to getting the good stuff is the price. Because it is a specialty item shipped to the US it costs around $28.00 for 40 ml. (.70 per ml!) *ouch* But it doesn’t break me out (I have really sensitive skin that breaks out with nearly everything.)so I feel it is worth it!

    4 years ago
  8. I’ve been using the Skin79 for a long time and love it. I didn’t even know it had a perfumey scent as it didn’t really smell to me. Also I believe the pink one is for oily skin and the gold is for dry skin. The dewy finish also doesn’t bother me and I like that fresh look. Didn’t make me look oily, just dewy. To each their own though.

    I have tried a missha bb cream before because I heard a lot of great things about it, but it didn’t really impress me. Would like to try some etude house bb cream though, maybe now is the time?

    4 years ago
  9. Simon should do one too!
    Anyways..
    I previously use The Face Shop Aqua Tinted BB Cream as my go-to bb cream. It has a light coverage and it easily spreads on my skin.
    I also use Tony Moly G9 Moisture CC Cream. Though it is a CC cream, it as more coverage than the Aqua Tinted one. This is one of the two that I am using rn. It also spreads easily.
    Last on the list is The Face Shop Be A Better Man CC Cream. This one is the most different of the three.
    It has little beads which is for the ‘color correction’. As you apply it on your face, the beads adjusts the color to match your skin tone. But this one is very hard to spread. It kinda hurts my face afterwards. Maybe it is because of the beads. This also has a light coverage but adjusts your skin tone. I also observed that the more you blend this, it becomes darker.

    ps. I’m a guy with a very oily face. I also has blemishes on my face. I’m currently planning to buy the Lab Series BB Tinted Moisturizer. It has good reviews!

    4 years ago
    • SIMON PLEASE DO ONE FOR US MALES!
      I know some other guys want to try bb/cc creams but don’t know where to start. It would be really helpful!

      4 years ago
  10. When I first saw your videos about bb cream I got so excited because I really needed to find a moisturizer with light coverage and SPF. Unfortunately, Korean products are made for Korean skin tone ranges, and seeing that I have dark brown skin mine is far beyond the Normal Korean spectrum. It makes me wonder what darker skinned women who live in Korea ( like Michelle Lee or Tasha) use. Or maybe heir skin is just light enough to pass after the product oxidizes. So instead I use the Maybelline Dream Fresh Bb cream in the darkest shade. It is actually one of the few American bb’s that comes in a dark brown tone so I did not have many options. It works ok, but since I have really oily skin and live in the tropics, makeup hardly ever stays on my face and I have to keep reapplying. I actually remember before bb creams started being produced in the West, that dark skinned women had put tutorials on youtube, mixing their foundation with bb creams.

    I have used The Face shops’s Oil-Free BB with chamomile and it was nice but it still left a slight white cast on my face after oxidation. It was quite hilarious when I went to buy it from the store in NY. The Korean salesperson obviously wanted to tell me I was too dark and it probably would not work for me, but didn’t know how to do so without coming off racist. I bought it anyway because I just wanted to try to see if it would work.

    Alas, this review would not help me find a bb cream but it was entertaining non-the less.

    4 years ago
    • I’m pretty dark too, way tanner than Tasha or Megan. I was also pretty hesitant about using an Asian bb creams, but some brands do sell darker color. Missha’s perfect cover bb cream comes in the darkest color I’ve seen for an asian bb cream, and it’s a good bb cream. I actually use the lighter colors and they blend with my skin color perfectly. Or maybe you could mix a darker foundation with bb cream.

      4 years ago
      • The mixing with foundation is usually what most darker skinned women do, but I have very sensitive skin and hardly ever use foundation because it clogs my pores so I haven’t tried that.

        I think also it has to do with undertones, whether you have warm or cool. Sometimes the bb creams have a cool base make my skin a little blue/greenish and I maybe need a warmer toned one.

        4 years ago
    • Have you read The Wanderlust Project (http://thewanderlustproject.com/)? It’s a travel blog, but she reviews a lot of Korean skincare and beauty products and she has very dark skin. I find her blog super useful when I am researching products or discovering new ones.

      4 years ago
      • Hahaha! I have been perusing her blog and it is really nice, thank you but just need to clarify that she does -not- have ‘very dark skin’. Actually on the black shade scale she would be considered caramel toned. I am much darker ( more like chocolate) and sadly, my skin tone is not even that dark in the scheme of skin tones. She also seems to not use BB creams at all. Just a moisturizer with SPF. Ah well, she does have some great recommendations though which I would love to try. Thanks for telling me about her blog.

        4 years ago
        • Sorry! We’re a pretty pale lot in Western Canada (as it is winter for 8 months) so I am probably not the best judge of range.

          4 years ago
      • No I have not. Thanks for the recommendation. I will look her up.

        4 years ago
  11. okay I got the Dr. Jart+ one and IT IS AMAZING! AMAZING I SAY!

    4 years ago
  12. Ren

    Hello! I recently started being interested in BB creams so thanks for this review.

    4 years ago
  13. I use Rimmels bb cream, Its the best I’ve managed to find on the high street. http://uk.rimmellondon.com/products/face/bb-cream

    I have a yellowish skin tone so I may have to look into Korean brands more. The lighter Rimmel one actually doesn’t make me look so bad so long as I don’t put too much on.

    4 years ago
  14. I use Missha No. 23 Perfect Cover BB cream. I use this one because it’s the only brand that I was able to get someone to help me test it. I don’t want to order BB cream online and discover it’s not my colour.

    The other reason is that Missha’s has one of the highest SPFs on their BB cream. My mom has one she just got from the Face shop and while I like the weight of that one, it has a lower SPF than Missha’s.

    About the push bottle: Yes I have problems pumping Missha BB cream out as well. However, I don’t think it’s because the pump is broken. I’ve found that you have to pump it out a certain way to get it to come out correctly. I’m not sure at what degree of angle, but that’s all I know.

    4 years ago
  15. I went to a Sephora in Paris the other. I discovered a Korean/French brand, called Erborian, and the nice makeup lady seemed baffled that I’d order from Korea to get my product. She did mention the Koren/French version is “adapted”, though, which sorta scares me. I did buy her product though (a base, the BB cream, and got a free promotional CC cream tube too!) and it was kinda nice.

    I’m still waiting on my BB cream from TesterKorea (Etude House… I think the same one as in the video!) and I couldn’t be more excited. Can’t wait to put it on. I’m not a big makeup person, but I think this is going to change soon :P

    4 years ago
  16. Ash

    I just recently started using a BB cream by Alobon. I think it’s called Clean Light BB Cream and I really like it because it brightens my skin tone and matches my skin color really well, I have really pale skin so it can be hard to find a BB cream that blends really well. The only downside to it is that the coverage isn’t great, but hey, that’s what cover up is for, right?

    4 years ago
  17. Really enjoying the makeup videos :)

    4 years ago
  18. The first BB cream I bought and used was Etude House’s Precious Mineral BB cream (the regular one). I actually bought it because of the BB Cream Reviews: Matte vs. Shiny video (thanks, Martina!! :D) I was looking for a BB cream to try and I went with that one since my skin is pretty light, too x] It gives me just the right coverage while still letting me have a natural look.

    Then I wanted to try more so I bought another one: Dr. G Brightening Balm SPF 30 PA++ from Gowoonsesang. This is my to-go BB cream. It has a bit better coverage than the Precious Mineral one, but it’s a better match to my skin color, is less runny, doesn’t break me out, and feels lighter on my skin. And it’s comfortable to wear, too. This Dr. G BB cream is my everyday BB cream, but I use the Precious Mineral BB cream as a backup or whenever I want to use a different one for a day. But bottom line both the Precious Mineral and Dr. G BB creams are really nice on my skin and feel comfortable to wear.

    I’m really happy with the two BB creams that I have, although the Clio BB cream you reviewed seems convincing. It has a natural-like coverage that I really like, so I might try it sometime :] I’m so scared of using Misha products x[ I tried their BB cream oil remover since at the time I was looking for a remover specific for BB cream, but it broke me out!! ;A; So to stay safe Misha is definitely a NO NO for me. (Now I only use Skin Food’s Aloe Vera Cream Cleanser as a BB cream remover. It’s much nicer on my skin x] )

    4 years ago
  19. I use Skin79 BB cream VIP gold collection with wrinkle treatment and even thought i don’t use it for wrinkle treatment (bc im only 19 lol), it gives pretty good coverage. The only thing is that you can sometimes feel it if you don’t blend it well enough. The other one is BabyFace BB stick which is easy to apply and gives a light coverage. The bottle is super cute too

    4 years ago
  20. Is this a coincidence? These are the same products.
    file:///home/theuser/Pictures/Screenshot%20from%202014-07-02%2012:23:23.png

    4 years ago
  21. I use Maybelline’s BB Cream. I think it is light on my skin and both shades, Fresh and Natural, blends well with my skin. I am in-loved with BB Cream ever since I used it, though I haven’t really tried other other brands, except Avon’s BB and CC cream that I do not like. I wanted to try Korean brands but there aren’t much to choose from here in the Philippines. We only have, I think, TonyMoly, Etude House and The Face Shop and their products are insanely expensive. Also, they don’t offer them in small packages, about 20 ml or so.

    4 years ago
  22. Have you tried the CC cream from etude house?! I bought it on a whim, and have loved it since day one. I have really red skin, so this CC cream whitens my evens out the tones. But it leaves my face just a little bit too white sometimes if I use a titch too much, so 99% of the time I put a BB cream on top. This particular BB cream is one of the cheaper brands, BUT WORKS SO WELL. Can’t remember the name, but both products I have are SUPER AWESOME! :D

    4 years ago
  23. I have used the Skin79 one and it just makes my skin mroe oily. I have oily skin so I don’t like using it, but my sister loves using it. Its the only brand she buys. I never thought it had a scent though…

    I prefer using Nature Republic by Flower. It was the first that I bought and still use today. I like it because it has really good coverage and doesnt leave my skin oily. I love using bb cream because it looks natural if you dont pack a lot on LOL and when I do my make-up I like doing things that look natural.

    4 years ago
  24. OMG its amazing thanks guys……………..

    4 years ago
  25. I use Etude House’s Bright Fit and Cotton Fit.
    The Bright Fit has great coverage but I’ve noticed it makes me break out the following day, but if I use a primer that fixes the problem. I only use it now when I want great coverage for like parties and stuff.
    I use the Cotton fit for everyday use – it doesn’t break me out and the coverage is good (medium) and it’s easy to put on.

    I have the Banila.co cc and bb cream on my list :) I have high expectations for them ^^

    4 years ago
  26. I’ve never tried BB cream from Korea, but I’ve tried many of the ones available in America and there are actually a couple I absolutely love. I have very sensitive skin that usually means a change in makeup or face wash will lead to awful all day redness. And to improve my skin, I decided to completely drop heavy foundations. So far, the best BB cream for me is Covergirl’s Cgsmoothers which is very light and airy, and it doesn’t leave my face feeling dewy all day. I use it more as a sunscreen though. The one I use when I go out is Maybelline’s Dream Fresh which is a little heavier and spreads really nicely.

    4 years ago
  27. I’m lucky because there is a Korean beauty shop just down the road from me (in Edmonton, Alberta) that carries a wide variety of brands, including most that are mentioned here. Currently I have been using Holika Holika’s Aqua Petit Jelly BB Cream, I picked it up because of all of the rave reviews online, I like it because it evens out my skin tone and covers up my redness and imperfections (I don’t need concealer when I use it), it also has a semi-matte finish so it’s good for when I don’t want to look too glowy and dewy (if you’re in Canada, Holika Holika actually has a Canadian webstore now http://www.holikaholika.ca/products/bb-cream-makeup/aqua-petit-jelly-bb/). I also have Nature Republic’s Photoshot 3D Mouse BB which I like because it has a super light texture, overall I get medium coverage out of it which is what I prefer anyways, I can really build a new diffused look with it and it does have a dewy finish which looks stunning, but it isn’t my day to day BB cream. I keep meaning to pick up the Iope BB Cushion to try next. Also, one of the reasons why I gravitate towards BB Creams is the SPF content, so I am always looking for a higher SPF when I pick mine out.

    4 years ago
  28. i know these are mostly for dry skin but i was wondering Martina if you found some for oily skin since my face tends to be more oliy

    4 years ago
  29. I don’t use BB cream- my mum buys it but I find it’s too dark for my skin, regardless of brand or if it’s supposed to be for ‘ivory’ skin. I guess in England looking pale isn’t really in. I like really thick foundation because my skin is so blotchy but the thick BB cream just makes me look like an oompa-loompa and those moisturising versions barely do anything and I don’t like looking shiny.

    4 years ago
  30. If you go on the link for the BB cream sales, you’ll see a bunch of kpop idols modelling separate brands. :P
    I see Sulli, Yoona, Jessica, Suzy, Victoria, and someone I think is Dara?

    4 years ago
  31. “if you want your face to smell like you walked though a department store and got attacked by a bunch of women sampling perfume…” ahahaha that reminds me of that scene in Spongebob when he and Patrick got stuck in the Flying Dutchmans ship!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8R2dWR2f4yc

    4 years ago
  32. I normally use the exact one you reviewed from Etude House. But since it’s summer it’s hard to find anything that matches my skin tone. :\

    4 years ago
  33. Which ones would you recommend for sensitive combination skin? (Oily t-zone & dryish cheeks & eyebrows lol) Non scented plz n thank you~!

    4 years ago
  34. i know these are mostly for dry skin but i was wondering Martina if you found some for oily skin since my face tends to be more oliy

    4 years ago
    • I think there are a lot of great comments suggesting oily skin BB creams all around you! It seems the skin79 one might be better if I had oily skin!

      4 years ago
  35. I must say, looking at how much bb you use Martina… you’re putting too much at once! It’s better to put much less twice, then the color is much better and well its better to pat the face lightly than rubbing, then you get a fresher look. I used the pink one from skin79 but it’s made for pink undertone skin and it;s too dark. I’m really pale so I have my favourites and these are: Skin79 Green(it’s really light and almost white and it doesn’t cover much but that’s good for me), Etude House Precious Mineral Bright Fit(It’s almost perfect and not so expensive. I use that the most because it feels like my skin is in perfect condition and smells so goooooood~)But I must say that I fell in love with cushions! I have one from Etude and its really great! You don’t need much product and skin looks fantastic. All day long it looks perfect… I tried many bb creams and well as for you Martina I must say that maybe skin79 Gold would be good for you but You must remember that any bb from skin79 needs to be put more than once a day
    because it don’t last too well in comparison with other bb’s. As for me Etude is my number one^^

    4 years ago
  36. I use the skin79. I too find it to be very dewy/shiny. More so than I like. I might try the Dr. Jart next. I have very oily skin and am rather dark. So the Clio may work for me as well. I prefer Korean BB creams as well.

    The only problem is I’m in the US so it’s hard to get access to some of the BB creams There’s no Etude house near to us and I want to test the BB cream on my skin before I purchase.

    Thanks for the review. I’ll keep an eye out for these BB creams.

    4 years ago
  37. You needed one and a half pumps of the skin79!? My face is worse then yours and I only use half a pump and get perfect coverage on my face + neck. Also, the pump is a vacuum one with a bottom that comes up when you pump, so there’s actually no waisting whatsoever! :)

    4 years ago
  38. I use Missha 13 because I have a very pale complexion. I really love how light this color is and how well it matches my undertones. I’ve had make up artists use my Missha BB cream for shows and they always make a face at the grey color as they put it on but then perk up when it oxidizes and matches my skin tone pretty perfectly.

    4 years ago
  39. I use Skin79, but I use the Orange bottle. I like the coverage and I have oily/combination skin and it seems to work well. I pay no where near that much for it, less than $20 on Amazon last time I did. I use less than a pump and, yes, it is glossy, but I also use a rice powder to set everything so that fixes it. There is a smell, but it goes away before I even get out the door.

    4 years ago
  40. I was using BRTC Gold Caviar before. It worked pretty well, mostly I wanted hydration and evening out my skin tone. :)

    4 years ago