Go Premium
Facebook Twitter Google Plus

Korean BB Cream Review Showdown

June 29, 2014

Comments

Share Post

THE BB CREAM SHOOOOWWWDOOWWNN! I’ve wanted to do this review for soooooooo long! I’m so happy to finally be presenting you with a more complete comparison of BB Creams then in my last much older video. I picked six different BB Creams ranging from cheap to expensive and I pitted them against each other. Also, to make this even better, there’s a Gmarket Promo going on with a whole heap of BB Creams! If you’ve been unsure about spending the money on a BB Cream maybe sale time is your chance to get them.

So to begin with, BB Cream is NOT the same as using foundation, so for those of you ladies/gentleman that don’t enjoy thick makeup up on your face, BB Cream is for you! And yes, lots of Korean dudes use BB Cream as part of their daily routine and I don’t think there is anything wrong with that.

BB Cream actually means Blemish Balm and was originally created by a doctor for people with skin issues including scarring or bad acne. The formula that it is made of is baffling to me because it applies one colour and changes to another in oxygen, it doesn’t clog my pores, it doesn’t feel like I’m wearing makeup, and it still manages to cover up my red face and under eye circles. What is this sorcery!!?? Whatever it’s made of, I use it daily like I would a face cream since all BB Creams come equipped with SPF protection from the sun. It’s very easy to apply and creates a nice no fuss routine at the beginning of the day. Even non-make up wearers could easily use this! Can you apply face cream? Then you can use BB Cream! HUURRAAHH!!!

The only problem with BB Cream is that there is a HUGE variety to choose from. For this test I stuck with popular Korean brand names and yes, Asian BB Cream brands are different than American BB Creams. I actually tested some popular American brands and they felt super thick and gooey. It reminded me of foundation mixed with glue. GROSS. So I’ll be sticking to the original source…KOREAN BB BRANDS! You can buy BB Creams for oily skin, whitening (which means evening out your skin tone, not bleaching your skin), heavy coverage, acne prone skin, waterproof, wrinkles/aging, and I’m sure I’ve missed some. Almost ALL of them come with UV or SPF protection.

For today’s review I picked BB Creams:
-for dry skin
-for light to medium coverage
-in the lightest shade available
-in matte finish (as opposed to dewy/shiny)

The dewy finish is, to me, that sweaty/oily look you sometimes see on Kpop Idols and Korean drama actors/actresses. I personally don’t like it, but Korean people think “dewy” means young and fresh looking. To each their own, right? Also regarding the skin tone, I have light/pink toned skin so not all BB Creams are okay for me. Some of them are on the brownish tanned side and others have a yellow tint to them so I had to avoid brands that were in those shades. Let’s begin!

Etude House BB Cream

Etude House

Get it here!

Price: cheap – mid
Coverage: light
Scent: no
Weight on face: very light
Amount needed for coverage: very little (less than one suggested pump)

I am an Etude House girl, I admit. For those of you that follow me on Instagram you’ll know I post pics of my hauls and sometimes I even do haul videos. I normally use BB Cream from Etude House to begin with but this one was a new type for me. I liked it! It was on the lighter side of coverage and applied really easily. Out of all the brands I tried this one required the least amount of BB Cream to spread onto my whole face. I think this was probably made for normal skin rather than oily/dry because of the way it applied, but it was still good for me since I’m not too dry. This remains in my Top 3 Picks.

Dr Jart BB Cream

Dr Jart

Get it here!

Price: expensive
Coverage: full
Scent: no
Weight on face: medium – heavy
Amount needed for coverage: two squeezes (absorbed quickly)

This was the most expensive brand on the list so I was hesitant to buy it…but I DID IT FOR SCIENCE!!! Thank goodness I like it! I was very happily surprised that this had no scent, was very moisturizing (but not greasy), and had awesome coverage and really made my skin look perfect! Depending on how dry your skin is you might run out of this faster than a cheaper brand that spreads more easily but it really does have awesome coverage. It is in my Top 3 Picks and I would buy it again!

Missha BB Cream

Missha

Get it here!

Price: mid range
Coverage: light – medium
Scent: perfume
Weight on face: light – medium
Amount needed for coverage: brand new bottle and the pump was broken so I can’t tell

I was unhappy from the get-go considering the brand new bottle wouldn’t pump at all. It could be a total fluke but that didn’t impress me. After that I got the amount of BB Cream all wrong and ended up using a cotton pad to scrape the extra stuff off my hands. What I really disliked was the scent since I’m NOT a perfume in my creams kindof girl. The coverage wasn’t great either, it still left me a bit blotchy. This one is a no for me.

Tony Moly BB Cream

Tony Moly

Get it here!

Price: cheap
Coverage: light
Scent: no
Weight on face: light
Amount needed for coverage: one – two squeezes

It was exactly what I expected from the cheapest BB Cream on the list! Very sheer coverage and I had to apply two squeezes to fully apply. I really have nothing else to say since I didn’t dislike it, but I wouldn’t buy it again because I personally need more coverage for my face. If you’re looking for very light and sheer coverage this is for you!

Clio BB Cream

Clio

Get it here!

Price: cheap – mid range
Coverage: medium
Scent: No
Weight on face: light
Amount needed for coverage: one squeeze or less

This one really surprised me! It had a totally unique feeling when it was being applied. It started as a cream but started to turn into almost a powder finish under my fingers. It was very silky. Perhaps that’s the shea butter in it? Whatever it is I was happily surprised considering I had never thought of buying this before. The coverage was nice as well but a bit more tan than my skin. I will buy this again! It’s in my Top 3 Pick.

Skin79 BB Cream

Skin 79

Get it here!

Price: expensive
Coverage: light – medium
Scent: perfume
Weight on face: medium – heavy
Amount needed for coverage: one pump and a half

Nope nope nope. The bottle was nice looking but a hard bottle means you can’t squeeze every last drop out of it. HAHAH! So cheap of me! Also, so much perfume. I guess I can’t really get past that. Also, it had a glossy finish so I really didn’t like anything about it. Considering how expensive it was I expected something better. I’d rather go for Dr.Jart if I’m going to pay for premium Bb Cream.

Altogether, here’s my handy chart, because pictures are pretty!

BB Cream Review Showdown

So that’s it for my BB Cream review. What I’d really like is to hear from you guise is what kindof BB Cream you use. Which ones do you love and which ones do you hate? Be sure to include your skin tone and preferences (example: oily skin, acne prone, etc) so we can share from each other’s experiences! If this was helpful let me know, it took a really long time to film this so if I have to do it again with different BB Creams I’d like to get it right and make it as helpful as possible!

Comments

234

Share Post

Beauty,Open the Happy

HIDE COMMENTS

Korean BB Cream Review Showdown

234 COMMENTS

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  1. LaNeige Snow BB cream! It has SPF 41 & PA++. It leaves a nice healthy looking skin with a matte medium coverage

    4 years ago
  2. LaNeige Snow BB cream! It has SPF 41 & PA++. It leaves a nice healthy looking skin with a medium coverage

    4 years ago
  3. I literally JUST bought a CC cream last night called Lioele Dollish Cera-V CC Cream because I saw a review for it and it was NOT cheap $32.00 CAD. I want a medium buildable coverage because I suffer from acne and have a lot of hyperpigmented scars from it. I always wear a heavy foundation because I want to cover all my scars but in the summer time my skin is typically less acne prone and so I’d like to get away from the super heavy foundations if possible plus I know how bad all the chemicals in foundation are. 

    4 years ago
    • Haven’t you tried a fade cream? You don’t have to apply it all over your face just on the most annoying spots. I’ve used a fade cream for years because I freckle. Small freckles aren’t so bad but large freckles and blemish scars can be lightened.

      4 years ago
      • I have heard of stuff like bio oil which i’ve used but not on my face.. What kind of cream do you use? Do you have a favourite brand or type?

        4 years ago
        • I use cheap stuff like Ambi that you can get at the drugstore. There are other brands that probably work better. I’m just not someone that spends a lot on makeup. I’m kind of past the point where it helps much. Bio oil is for scars I’ve used it before too and I don’t think it works.

          4 years ago
  4. I used to use skin79 and i didn’t find it any bad thing about it. Perhaps is because I used to live in a dry place.

    4 years ago
  5. I use the Skin 79 and I really like it because it provides a lot of coverage for my spotty skin but still feels very light and lasts forever. I live in Nashville and I have noticed that it can look and feel a little oily/dewey on my skin when it is very humid outside, but I find it better than using any foundation as it is lighter, has SPF, and has actually improved the tone of my skin overall.

    4 years ago
  6. It’s so weird since I use Skin79, that exact same BB cream, and so far, it’s the least intense I’ve found that actual has SPF in it. Most BB cream with SPF are too glossy and have this greasy finish that I really really hate. And I don’t really smell the perfume all that much, even though I really have a sensitive nose. Maybe I got used to it though.

    On the other hand, I’ve tried Etude House before, but I think I’ve tried the one you usually use (it was said in a previous video). I’ve stopped using it because it’s too greasy and glossy, and it felt heavy on my skin. I use BB cream because I don’t want that heavy feeling. On top of that, I really really hate the pump. After a while, it’s just soooooo messy, and it either skirts everywhere (but mostly on my clothes, you know, that one shirt you really wanna wear on that specific day) or doesn’t give you enough cream. It’s just such a bad pump…

    That said, I might try the one you used for this vid, and the Clio one too.

    4 years ago
  7. I’ve tried both American and Korean bb creams and the Korean bb creams always come out on top! The American one’s just feel super heavy and don’t moisturize well enough. Plus, I find that it slide off when my skin gets super oily. The one that I’ve been preferring though is the Lioele Waterdrop BB cream because it provides enough coverage without feeling super heavy. Plus! It keeps my face feeling super moisturized all day! I think it’s great and a little bit went a long way for me.

    4 years ago
  8. I use Dr. Jart+ Black/Silver label and have been using it for over 3 years now – it is all I need to use! I tried Missha, Skin79, and various others that looked great when I applied it but a few days later, MADE ME BREAK OUT!! *Disclaimer: I usually never break out at all* Dr. Jart+ is the only one where it has not made me break out. My friend (Caucasian) swears by it also and she says it has even improved her skin within a week. I used to use Make Up Forever HD foundation but have no need for it anymore. :)

    4 years ago
    • Oh yeah, my friend and I have really fair skin. She is on the dry side and I am on the combo side but it works great for us both. It comes on thick and kinda gray but it seems to just magically look perfect within a few minutes.

      4 years ago
  9. I use Elisha Coy?? Whenever I show my Korean friends the brand they have never heard of it? I bought it off a store on Amazon and they have a limited amount that they carry so it can be difficult to acquire. It also ships from China??? Anyhow, the point is I love it! Being a pink skin toned person, I found that Etude house makes me look tan, but Elisha Coy matches well with my super paleness~ the coverage is medium, covering my redness and dark circles, but still shows some of my moles on my cheeks. It doesn’t feel heavy on the face and has no scent! Sounds too good to be true, right? The only downside is in the summer, if I’m sweaty it feels like it is melting off my face (wicked witch of the west style). I’m due to buy some more but if I can’t find it in Korea, the Etude House option might be for me~~

    4 years ago
    • I’m not a young woman like you but I also have pink or blue undertones in my skin. I always used a light to medium foundation with a pink tint rather than yellow or beige. I wanted to try Korean BB Cream. I’ve tried a couple of over the counter American brands and they don’t have the level of coverage I want or the lightener. I need the lightener because I freckle. I’ve been worried to try Korean BB cream for fear that the color will be “off” on me. I back off of foundation as much as possible in the Summer because no matter what I wear it feels like it’s running, some products actually do. So far I like this cheap brand for hot weather because it doesn’t have as much pigment even if I do get sweaty.

      4 years ago
  10. Super pale swede with incredibly dry skin here! I use a BB cream from Smashbox in the shade fair on a daily basis and it works wonders for me. It is not exactly moisturizing but not drying either, it last all day(also works kind of like a primer), contains spf 35, the shade is perfect for my very pale skin with a pink undertone(I am one of those girls who has a hard time finding shades that are fair enough) and I can’t even feel it on my face. Another BB cream that I use sometimes is one from Roche Posay and I love the finish of it but for some reason it falls/flakes off(??) my face. I have considered ordering the Skin79 BB cream that you reviewed here for a long time since a lot of beauty bloggers that I follow have raved about it. Oh, and I have seen tutorials on how to open the bottle to get out the last of it! I have also heard that SkinFood(I love their face masks) have some good BB creams, have anybody tried their Aloe Sun bb cream?

    4 years ago
  11. I LOVE Etude House BB Creams. I’ve been using them religiously for about 4 yrs. I originally tried Missha before Etude and I ran into the same problem with the scent being to strong and it actually did not react well with my skin. It felt heavy and started breaking out pretty badly so BYE, MISSHA. What’s funny is that I actually prefer Missha’s oil makeup remover over Etude’s I bring a little travel sized bottle when I’m away from home since normal makeup removers don’t seem to take off BB Cream as well.

    4 years ago
  12. I’ve always wanted to try bb creams or cc creams~ But I don’t know which one to chose. I don’t wear makeup… my skin is combo and blemish/acne prone skin… How do you know which one to get without trying it on???

    4 years ago
  13. I actually only have tried using one bb cream since I haven’t been into using make up for that long and it’s L’Oreal’s Teint Miracle since my mother bought it for me as a gift and I have to say that I like it well enough (although I can’t really compare it to anything else) but it does give me nice coverage and spreads nicely so I only have to use a single pump at most. But it does feel a little heavy and it can’t cover my dark circles completely plus it’s really expensive.

    4 years ago
  14. This came JUST IN TIME for I’m down to the last drop of BB Cream, and I was thinking of trying a new kind!^^ I have the Etude House one at the moment and I really like it but seeing this review I think I’ll actually get the Clio one! :D I would’ve tried Dr. Jart if it wasn’t for summer break which equals no money xD My skin seems a lot like yours so I’ll definitely trust you on this one!

    4 years ago
  15. This is good to know. I tend to not like wearing any foundation and have been looking for just lighter coverage. Time to check Ktown for some of these (except for Etude which for some reason we don’t have in L.A.).

    4 years ago
  16. I tried some American BB Creams and they are…. bleh, just a waste of money.
    I have used Missha Perfect Cover and I like it (nice coverage,not so heavy as a foundation,great for my mixed skin,even my skin tone,etc.)The only think that I don’t like is that 3 or 4 hours later I have to reapplied.

    Yesterday I tried a sample of Etude House Cotton Fit and my first impression was that this one was the perfect bbcream but a few hours later I went to the bathroom of the mall, I saw my face and I was shocked.
    It dry my skin a lot so I looks so bad.. ;-; (I was like ‘ With this face I went to the street?!’) I have to wash all my makeup and confront tha world (? with a bare face. xD
    The worst think is that today my parents bought me the cottom fit.. So I’m worried.
    Maybe I should give another chance to cottom fit…or sell it. *sigh* Bad luck,sara. u_u

    PD: Sorry if something is wrong,guys.. I’m studing english for 3 or 4 months so, I suck D:

    4 years ago
  17. The first ever BB cream that I used was actually the Etude House Precious Mineral Bright Fit that you showed today. I also ended up using less than a pump for this one. At first I thought the BB cream made my skin look a little too white and powdery, but it slowly changes to my skin color I think.
    The second BB cream that I used was actually one that my sister bought for me as a birthday gift which was from the Face Shop called Face it Power Perfection BB Cream (natural beige). This one I feel like it was a bit better than the Etude House one just because it blended closer to my skin color.
    My sister also recommended me Dr Jart since it has better coverage and seems to last longer, but she did mention that it was a lot more expensive so I was hesitant to buy it. And also because I still have a lot leftover from both the Face shop one and the Etude House one since I don’t use it that often and only use a little every time.

    4 years ago
  18. Now make Simon do a review of the guy BB creams! lol

    4 years ago
    • Uh, I think this NEEDS to happen. FOR SCIENCE! And in the name of progressive male grooming and defiance of gender norms!

      4 years ago
      • Agreed. I’ve never really given a damn about masculine stereotypes, and I’m not ashamed to say that I do my best to take care of my skin and appearance. I think this kind of video needs to be done :D

        4 years ago
        • As one of your (seems like few) male fans, I would love to see a video of this.

          4 years ago
        • Don’t forget all the skincare benefits and SPF– SPF is super important in Korea, right? And you are in front of a camera, so if you’re facing dark circles or uneven skin tone and have the unflinching gaze of the camera on you, you have options! Er … and uh … it will help you relate to k-pop idols who have to wear makeup all the time. And … other reasons. It needs to happen!

          4 years ago
    • It’s actually something we’ve considered :)

      4 years ago
  19. I’ve always wanted to try Korean BB cream, but never had the chance to try it in person so I was iffy on getting it overseas. So it only comes in one shade? It seems like the colour changes slightly depending on your skin tone.

    Martina what’s the usual Etude House BB cream that you use, and how does it compare to the one you reviewed? I’m very tempted to try an Etude House but it looks like they have a lot of BB cream variety (ooooh video comparing Etude house products? Eh? Eh?) and there are even CC creams too!

    4 years ago
  20. I have a collection of 14 different BB creams (yes, i DID say 14)

    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10202468422174324&set=a.1300372071874.2041196.1307588125&type=1&theater

    Tony Moly – Goddesss aura (light, pale,easy to spread, light coveradge, evens out the tone)
    Etude House – Preciouse minerals (light, pale, liquidy, veryl ight covaredge)
    Lioele – Beyond the solution (weight like a suncream, beige, spreads nicely, nice coveradge)
    Hanskin – Glossy B.B. (light, pale, medium coverage, more “pearly” than gloss) for those special moments
    BRTC – Jasmine water (light, cold light beige, nice coverage, lil scent) my choise for winter
    Missha – Perfect cover (medium heaviness, many colours, medium – nice covarage) not my favourit :(
    Nature republic – Botanical shine (medium heaviness, very warm beige, floral smell) way too WARM beige
    Skin79 – Ornage (medium heaviness, pale, great covarage, high SPF) love it for summer!
    Skin79 – Pink (medium-high heaviness, greyish beige, medium coverage) pretty dissappointed
    Skin79 – Gold (a lil heavier heaviness, medium beige, medium coverage) not for young girls (+30, +40)
    Skin79 – Dream girls (very light, no coverage, evens out the tone nicely) for young teen girls
    Skin79 – Diamond (light, pale, lil shimmering, light-medium covarage) around 20y, but there are better
    Skinfood – Aloe sun (medium heavines, warm beigedifficult to spread and even out) dissapointing to me
    Missha – Moisture vita (light, watery, moisterizing, little coveradge) nothing special

    im a pretty pale woman so bear that in mind
    and when it comes to european/western bb creams, they just arent the same! and they are way too warm/dark/pigmented/low SPF for a plae woman

    4 years ago
  21. Meg

    I actually use Skin 79 and really like it. It’s glossy at first but I find that it goes away pretty quickly (at least for me). I use it because I have slightly tanner skin and it matches to it perfectly. :)

    4 years ago
  22. The BB creams that I’ve used always seem too dark for my skin tone, even the lightest shade! I use a very light shade of rimmel match perfection foundation but it’s not good for coverage so I have to put 2 layers on O_O My skin is oily/acne prone T_T Don’t they have CC creams out now which are meant to be better than BB creams? I’ve never tried CC cream before.

    4 years ago
    • you can not compare western bb creams to korean ones. the westerns are way too dark. koreans have a nice pelette of light pale shades. you should deffinitely try some
      and for oily/acne skin, i would deffinitly advise you to try La Roche-Posay Effaclar(the tiny bottle), it really helpeed me so much with my acne, and La Roche-Posay Cicaplast as before you put on bb cream to hold the oil back and it works perfectly as a primer

      4 years ago
  23. I use an American BB cream. I didn’t even know they were different (having never used an Asian one). I use Aveeno BB Cream. It feels nearly identical to the face lotion that I use from them.

    4 years ago
    • I just started using Aveeno Clear Complexion Fair/Medium BB cream and it’s the only kind I’ve ever tried. My skin is rather pale, (I glow in direct sunlight – add shiny sunscreen and teenage girls think I’m a vampire) a bit sensitive, and prone to redness but I didn’t want anything too heavy. Every time I’m concerned it goes on too dark and is noticeable, but no one has said anything to me (and my family definitely would). Is this how BB creams work? They go on darker then lighten? Should I try a Korean BB cream?

      4 years ago
  24. For a western BB cream for dry/sensitive skin ‘Garnier Miracle Skin perfecter Sensitive’ is great. I use it in light. (It’s a bit orange for me now though) This was the only bb/foundation that worked for my dry skin. It’s cheap – £10, Hypoallergenic and has a tiny bit of a fragrance. It’s easy to apply, covers some redness, makes your skin glow and doesn’t feel heavy. I honestly believe it improves my skins texture. It has spf 25. It is a light coverage though and could be a bit orange to some however i would recommend it for a try.

    4 years ago
    • I have the Garnier one too in Medium/Deep, but it turns orange like you said. The coverage is pretty light. I mainly use it to cover redness. Next time I will try a Korean one if I can find it in my color. But it seems like this tube is going to last me a while.

      4 years ago
  25. I tried one Korean BB cream (I forget the name of it) but it was like paste on my face. So I use a tinted moisturizer by Clinique that feels so much better. It’s similar to BB cream but it doesn’t stick to to my dry spots on my face.

    4 years ago
  26. I tried American BB Creams and they feel too heavy for my face especially since I have oily skin. I have used Skinfood’s Peach Sake pore BB cream and The Face Shop’s Oil Cut BB cream and they are both great for oily skin. The Face Shop’s Oil Cut BB Cream will look white on your face at first but it will adjust to your skin tone. Skinfood’s Peach Sake comes in many shades here in the states.

    4 years ago
  27. ldy

    I’d tried Missha’s Perfect Cover #23 before traveling to South Korea and was never really impressed. The formula was too thick and rubbed off on my clothes, and the color was too dark. Because of that experience, I was hesistant to go all out and buy any other kind at the chance I might hate it and waste my money. I did get some samples of Skin79’s Orange and Pink, but I hated those too.

    Then I went to South Korea and while there, I sampled a bunch of different creams. I ended up buying 3 different kinds: 1 Etude, 2 Skinfood. I’m not sure if it’s my skin, but I don’t really feel like these creams spread very well. Usually they absorb pretty fast. I always seem to be using a lot more than what other bloggers put on their faces. -shrug-

    Anyhoo, right now I’m still loving Skinfood’s Mushroom Multicare BB Cream as my go-to because it’s not super heavy. It was cheap too. I use the Etude Precious Mineral when I need more coverage, or else just go with a powder foundation (which oddly works better than BB creams, it just doesn’t have the added benefits). I tried Skinfood’s Peach Sake cream too, but it doesn’t spread as well for me. Maybe my skin just sucks.

    4 years ago
  28. I really need to start buying Asian BB creams because in my country they ONLY sell BB cream with a red undertone and my skin has more of a yellow undertone so they always make me look a bit lobsteresque. Also they are pretty oily and just feel like foundation mixed with moisturiser.
    The only thing is, my skin is quite a few shades darker than the average Korean so I’m not sure if there will be one the right shade for me and it’s not like I can try before I buy. I heard that one Korean company is bringing out a bronze BB so maybe I’ll try that.

    4 years ago
  29. THANK YOU MARTINA!!! I have been waiting for this day for so long! Since I don’t live in Korea, it’s harder to access all the brands and try them out. I also love hearing other people’s opinions about BB, especially those who are constantly on camera or in photos! Thank you thank you thank you! <3

    I used to use Etude House Precious Mineral, but I had a hard time making it last all day, and as the day progressed it looked progressively more ashy. So I tried a few others!

    #1 Holika Holika Aqua Petit Jelly – I was recommended this product a few months ago and I LOVE it. Very moisturizing, but it absorbs after a few seconds and gives good coverage. It also feels very light and lasts my 10-12 hour work shift! Plus the container is adorable.

    #2 BRTC – I've had great experiences with all of their BB creams! This was the first BB cream to still give me coverage after I worked out and sweated a whole lot. I was very impressed! The Jasmine Water and Whitening BB creams are my favorite, the Gold Caviar is a bit too dark for me. The downside is that it's one of the more expensive BB creams out there.

    #3 Lioele Beyond The Solution – I like this BB cream a lot as well, not too heavy, good coverage, and looks good for 8+ hours! The "Triple The Solution" is definitely darker than "Beyond the Solution". And this product is less expensive than BRTC.

    Those are my 3 recommendations! (Wow, feel like I just totally came across as a BB cream addict/nerd LOL)

    4 years ago
    • I wanna try Holika Holika bb cream but I’m not sure if I should buy it. My skin is mixed so… I’m worried.

      Sorry if something is wrong o you can’t understand. I’m stying english for 4 months. ;-;

      4 years ago
  30. I’ve been buying Korean BB cream online for a few years now, the first one I bought was Misha Perfect Cover and it’s the one I keep buying. Since I have to buy online I’m hesitant to try any other in case it’s a bust for me. I only pay 13 bucks for a 50ml bottle and about 3 dollars shipping.

    The site I buy from actually has the Etude House…I might give it a try the next time I have to place an order. It’s 12 dollars, so same price as my Missha.

    Located in Newfoundland, Canada I have tried all sorts of “American” BB creams and you are right, they suck really bad XD

    I have tried Olay, L’Oreal, Revlon, Rimmel, Cover Girl, Aveeno, Marcelle and Maybelline and it’s only the latter that I found any good. Prices on them is crazy too compared to the size of the bottle. It’s anywhere from 15 to 25 dollars and the majority of them are 30ml bottles. It’s cheaper for me to buy online, even with shipping.

    The one thing I wanted to say about the Missha BB cream you tried, lol, I think (now maybe you did try off camera) it was because you were holding it upright. I have trouble with mine when I hold it like that, turn it upside down and I have no problem <3

    4 years ago
    • Another Newfoundlander? Hi! :)

      Do you mind me asking how you get your BB creams shipped to the Island? I can’t seem to find a place that will ship for anything less than $18. I would like to try some of the asian BB creams, but not if it’s gonna cost me that much to get it here!

      4 years ago
  31. All the hate against the American BB creams makes me wish I could try Korean BB cream, but since I’m half black, I don’t really know if I could find any creams that match my skin tone. My skin isn’t very dark, but I don’t want to spend money to import something that I’m not sure will work. But since I hate the heaviness of foundation, I’ll stick with my Maybelline BB cream until the day I am rich enough to buy stuff to experiment with from overseas.
    As a side note, does anyone know if there are Korean BB creams for somewhat darker skin? I know some Koreans are said to have “dark” skin, so is there BB cream to cater to them?

    4 years ago
    • I agree I’m African American and I tried the Maybelline BB cream on a whim I have a medium skin tone and I just tried the second to darkest shade and it works perfectly. I forget I have it on and I have extremely sensitive and dry skin. My friend tried the darkest shade and she has oily skin and she loves it too! I think she wears hers with foundation though I only use the BB cream.

      4 years ago
    • I am not sure about other companies but I do know about Missha. Try Missha No. 27 or No. 31. From what I have seen, these tend to go good for darker skin tones. My skin tone is a NC45 (MAC shade) and I have tried both Missha No. 23 and No. 27. Both do the job for me, but I personally prefer No. 27. I would think if your skin is of a darker shade (NC 50 and above) than mine then No. 31 might work for you. :D

      4 years ago
    • I am having the same problem. I’ve been told that a ‘Bronze’ BB Cream has come out from the Korean company ‘skin79’ so I’m going to try that one out ^.^

      4 years ago
    • I also use the Maybelline bb as well because it is the only American bb that can cover my skin tone. I heard that Iman was going to come out with one as well but I have never used her stuff before. The Garnier and cover girl ones are way too light. I do wish that I could try a Korean one which did not leave a white cast on my skin.

      4 years ago
    • Maybelline BB cream is the only American one I have liked!! I don’t find it covers as well as my Missha but if I’m just looking for a light covering (grocery run lol) it’s perfect!

      4 years ago
  32. I have heard positive things about Korean BB Creams and i would love to try them…but m black. I don’t think they would have colors dark enough for me. I can only dream.

    4 years ago
    • You could start with something like a Korean BB Boomer (primer) it’s just a cream (no color) but it really does help fill in lines and I find it gives my skin a nice dewy look (not oily just fresh ><) You can wear it under the normal foundation/american bb cream you use. I also use it by itself if I'm going to somewhere like the beach.

      4 years ago
  33. I use Etude House Shiny Star BB cream for a light matte finish and Etude House Precious Mineral BB cream peal something or other for a light dewy finish. I really like the Shiny Star one but it was a promotional thing with Shinee so I don’t think they make it any more :T I bought mine for a very reasonable price from Cosmetic Love.com

    4 years ago
  34. Have you tried the Etude House Precious Mineral BB Cream Cotton Fit yet Martina? I love it…I’m pretty sure it’s the matte (?????) sibling of the Precious Mineral BB Cream Bright Fit. (It’s in a white bottle instead of the bright fit pink.) Also…why are the names of K cosmetics always so damn long!!! *frustration*

    4 years ago
    • ldy

      I saw that one when I was in Korea on vacation, but I couldn’t figure out what the difference between them was.

      4 years ago
      • Yeah, cotton fit (white, matte bottle) is more of a semi matte finish compared to bright fit (pink, shinier bottle) which is slightly shimmery and dewy. I think the cotton fit bb cream is really lovely! Unfortunately (as far as I know) cotton fit only has three shades vs the four shades of bright fit. I also heard cotton fit is slightly thicker than bright fit.

        4 years ago
        • Wow I’m dumb…and blind. The Etude House one reads Blooming Fit. Must be the new younger sister to the precious mineral line.

          Yup, new for 2014. Also three shades like cotton fit apparently. Just checked.

          4 years ago
  35. Ugh you are seriously the best. There are just way too many brands of BB Cream. Hella daunting for a person like me who doesn’t really care much for make up. But this makes my life easier. I’mma go buy me some Etude House BB cream. Hope it suits meh ^^ Fingers crossed lol

    4 years ago
  36. I really like using Etude House BB cream and Missha bb cream. I’m using the M Perfect cover Missha bb cream, which doesn’t have that perfumey smell you didn’t like in the Missha bb cream you covered. I got a sample from my Ipsy bag, so I was pleasantly surprised at how much I liked it – it has medium coverage (which I needed because I got a horrible case of spring allergy acne), smooth/satiny finish, and doesn’t have a huge smell. As for Etude House… well, you can never go wrong with Etude house!!
    I’ve used the skin79 bb cream before, and I don’t remember hating it, as I finished the entire bottle. I haven’t bought one since, so I guess it was an ok bb cream.

    4 years ago
  37. I have Skin79 hot pink, perfume for me is ok and first 1-2 hours looks OK, but later it vanish… looks like i had nothing on my skin… but thanks god sun protection is last all day cause i burn very quickly. And in winter i can’t use it cause my skin become flaky, dry :/ usually i mixing it with skin79 CC cream control, it becomes more moisturizing. I’m thinking which one BB cream i should to choose, i need good coverage and to stay on my skin at least 4 hours :D

    4 years ago
  38. UGH. the American BB creams are aweful! I tried a few and just no. They didn’t give good coverage (imo) and I had to use a lot more than I do of the Asian BB creams.

    I use MISSHA Cho Bo Yang Herbal BB Cream which on E-bay is around $20-25 USD and my first one lasted me about a little over a year. I’ve had a new bottle and it’s been about a little over half a year. It’s a heavier coverage so I use it when I really want a lot of coverage. It doesn’t feel weighty though (at least not after a while). I really like it.

    Right now I am also using Rivecowe CC cream. It’s a corrective cream and not a BB cream tho. I really like it and it is like putting magic onto your skin. It starts out completely white but when you rub it in it starts to match your skin tone. MAGIC I TELL YOU!!!! MAGIC!!!

    I had also used SKIN79 VIP Gold Super Plus. I did like it but it didn’t seem to give me the greatest coverage.

    What I usually do is go to Ebay and buy a few different samples. They are usually under $5.00 and you can get like 3-5 samples which will last a few weeks. Then I make my decision and buy the bigger versions.

    4 years ago
    • I have not tried CC creams. But do you think it would work for me. It’s just so difficult finding moisturizers with SPF that I am not allergic to. Man I feel like I am allergic to everything. Hahaha reminds me of all the food foul ups we had.

      4 years ago
      • I don’t know. The one (and only) that I’ve tried has SPF in it. So definitely not that one. Plus while I don’t really think it had a specific color\skin tone on it, I think it would probably be way too light for you. :( Even though it’s goes on white and is magic, I think they are still for certain skin tones?

        4 years ago
  39. Oh Missha… Martina, I knew you were going to have problems with the pump in this one as soon as I saw the bottle xD
    I use Missha Perfect Cover No. 21 and this happens to me with every new bottle. But I got used to it and it doesn’t bother me that much anymore.
    Missha is perfect for me when I have bad skin day as its coverage is really good and I actually love how it smells. When my skin looks good and all I want is to even out my skin tone I use my other BB cream, Skin79 VIP Gold Collection. Before buying this one I’ve tried many samples of other Skin79 BB creams and this one was definitely the best one for me (I also didn’t like the Pink one).
    Before switching to those two BB creams I’ve tried Etude House’s Precious Mineral Bright Fit but this one didn’t do it for me. The coverage was great and the application easy but even though I got the lightest possible shade, it was just too dark for my almost-vampire-like complexion.

    Anyways, I loved this video and it would be awesome to see more cosmetics reviews from you :D

    4 years ago
  40. Here are some things I know about BB cream:

    I buy from cosmetic-love.com. It has the lowest prices on Korean make-up I’ve found in the US. A lot of things are available on Amazon, though.

    Dr. Jart is available at Sephora world-wide. No need to order online.

    I really like Skin 79, but I really prefer the orange bottle to the pink bottle one. I’ve tried both and I really like the orange one better.

    The Tony Moly melts as soon as I leave the house and is really greasy looking. I know Korea has a “dewy” look, but it looks like I’ve been swimming in olive oil. Granted, it’s been 90+ degrees here (32C), but I would like my make-up to last more than half an hour.

    I’ve also tried Tony Moly’s CC cream (which is WHITE out of the bottle). It’s fine for winter by too light even for my pasty complexion in the summer. It is, however, awesome in consistency and coverage when I can use it.

    I’ve tried Skin Food Agave BB Cream. I love Skin Food; it was the first cosmetic store I tried in Korea and I love it like Martina loves Etude House. The BB Cream is okay but a little streaky if you’re not careful. Their best products, however, are their toners and emulsions. I still order them, even though I’ve been in the US for three years.

    My absolute FAVORITE Korean BB cream though is Lioele. It’s the first one I’ve re-ordered and I really like it.

    4 years ago